top of page

The making of a tiny house....

Don is a man of many talents. He is not confined to one area of woodworking, but has experience in rough carpentry, framing, finish work, and fine woodworking, as well as plumbing and electrical work. His knowledge and skill combined with my ambition and determination made for a dynamic duo in building our tiny house in 2015.

In July 2015, we began the building process. By November, we were finished. See some of the process below.

Charla securing floor decking with screws.

Don and our daughter preparing to raise another wall.

Walls were raised in one weekend. So much fun!

Inside after the walls have been raised.

I was melting from the heat that day.

With guidance from "The Master," I installed all of the windows.

The back has an added storage area, which also houses all of the plumbing and tankless water heater (which I LOVE!)

Don handled all of the measuring and cutting and I installed most of the vinyl siding. I have photos of my smashed fingers to prove that I used the hammer, and missed a couple of times. I will spare you those images.

Finished with a metal roof.

Bathroom is framed and pocket door installed.

The stairs and built-in shelving is perfect for microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and extra storage.

....oh, and shoe storage in the bottom...it's a little messy in this photo.

We also added a small closet at the end of the stairs.

Again, with measuring and cutting help from "The Master," I installed all of the laminate flooring.

The cabinetry was custom built by Don to fit over the trailer's fender. The drawers provide lots of spacious storage, which is a luxury in a tiny house. We chose not to have a range/oven due to the excessive size and footprint. I will talk about how I cook in a later blog post.

The bathroom is so nice and spacious. Plenty of room to change clothes and move around and does not feel cramped at all. This was high on my priority list for the tiny house. We also installed a basement style window in the bathroom.

The single stall shower is perfect!

A wine rack on the wall works great as towel storage.

Crown molding and bead board ceilings are my favorite feature in the living area.

We found this little soda fountain gem at a local thrift store and "The Master's Hands" refurbished it with a new walnut table top and chair seats to match the custom walnut stair steps. It's perfect for tiny dining!

A second loft above the living area provides storage and an extra sleeping loft when needed. It has a curtain and appears to be a decorative shelf when not in use.

I couldn't resist adding this tiny detail to the wall. We need to enjoy the little things in life. I am learning to do this more every day.

So, that's my tiny house, from front to back.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page